About

The omnipresence of the image

It often makes us forget that photography is also and above all an art. It is a young art anchored in the present by the permanent use of modern and sophisticated tools for the production and diffusion of all of it’s work.

L55 is born from this DNA and from the artistic and creative treasures of our wonderful island that merited it’s own magazine.
It often makes us forget that photography is also and above all an art. It is a young art anchored in the present by the permanent use of modern and sophisticated tools for the production and diffusion of all of it’s work.

L55 is born from this DNA and from the artistic and creative treasures of our wonderful island that merited it’s own magazine.
We are a group of friends who are passionate about photography and art in general. We like to create collaborations between local and international talents. Our initial idea was to create strong links between international photographers and those from Reunion Island by offering training workshops, led by distinguished artists, and by organizing exhibitions.

 

From utopia to reality

Bringing renowned photographers to our tiny island in the middle of the Indian Ocean may seem like a utopian concept. However, in January 2020, two ‘‘Picassos of light’’, the German photographers Jean Noir and Christoph Gellert, stopped by on our Island for a week on their way to South Africa. We will have an exhibition as well as a ‘‘workshop’’ during which these two talents will share their knowledge without holding back with a group of Reunionese photographers. It’s an utter success from which great collaborative projects are born is.

Like for many others the Covid-19 pandemic put everything on hold. Rather than giving up, our passionate team dived head first into the adventure of creating a virtual magazine. Thus was born L55, acronym of longitude 55 . A springboard for Art

We want L55 not only to be a magazine focused on photography, but to serve as a springboard for Art in different fields, both in Réunion Island and in the Indian Ocean, and beyond the borders of the world. Thus, with each edition we will continue to paint the portrait of artists of local and international reputation.


We hope you will enjoy reading L55 issues, as much as we did creating it for you.

A Propos

L’omniprésence de l’image

Elle nous fait souvent oublier que la photographie est aussi et surtout un Art. C’est un art jeune, ancré dans le présent par l’utilisation permanente d’outils modernes et sophistiqués pour la production et la diffusion des œuvres.

L55 est né de cet ADN et du fait que la richesse artistique et créative de notre île méritait un magazine qui lui soit entièrement consacré.
Nous sommes une bande d’amis passionnés de photographie et d’art en général, qui aimons créer des synergies entre les talents locaux et internationaux. Notre idée initiale était de faire naître des liens forts entre des photographes internationaux et ceux de l’île de la Réunion, en proposant des ateliers de formation animés par des artistes de renom et en organisant des expositions.

 

De l’utopie à la réalité

Cela pouvait paraître totalement utopiste d’arriver à faire venir, sur ce petit caillou perdu dans l’océan indien, des photographes réputés. Pourtant, au mois de janvier 2020, deux « Picasso de la lumière », les photographes Allemands Jean Noir et Christoph Gellert, en route pour l’Afrique du Sud, font étape pendant une semaine sur notre île. Une exposition verra le jour ainsi qu’un « workshop » au court duquel ces deux talents partagent sans restriction leurs connaissances avec un groupe de photographes Réunionnais.

Comme pour beaucoup, la pandémie de Covid-19 stop net, pour un temps, l’élan donné par cette expérience. Plutôt que de baisser les bras, notre équipe de passionnés se lance alors dans l’aventure de la création d’un magazine virtuel. Ainsi nait L55, acronyme de longitude 55 qui est celle de la Réunion. C’est un franc succès d’où naissent de grands projets collaboratifs. Un tremplin pour l’Art!

Nous désirons que L55 ne soit pas seulement un magazine axé sur la photographie, mais serve de tremplin pour l’Art dans différents domaines, tant au niveau Réunionnais que dans l’océan Indien, et au delà des frontières du monde. Ainsi, à chaque editions nous continuerons à peindre le portrait d’artistes de réputation locale et internationale.

Nous espérons que vous aurez autant de plaisir à feuilleter les magazines L55 que nous en avons à les créer pour vous.